Exporting design data from a report(?)

• June 12, 2015 at 6:27 pm #35927
      Ben
      Participant

Hi,

I am building a sales tool for a customer who is using 2020 design. I believe they are currently using version 8, but in the process of upgrading. <span style=”line-height: 1.5;”>I have never used 2020 design before.</span>

As part of the tool, we will be importing the data from each design they create, to integrate with their sales process.

Effectively, the data that I need to import is what is created when they do a report (including user code and description), however the various character separated export options appear to have data in varying columns depending on the design and I am unsure how to reliably extract the data from them.

Is this the best method for extracting this data? (I need the “number” (1, 1.1, 1.2, 2 etc), the user code, description, price and type (cabinet, charge, accessory, etc) and any discounts. For all intents and purposes, I want to re-create the report from the exported data. Is there documentation to help me understand how to achieve this?

Thanks!

• June 14, 2015 at 10:09 pm #35930

Hi Ben,

Good luck with getting such info!

A good few years ago we used to use this method but have since dispensed with it – we now use the Application Integration feature to generate an XML.

From my memory, we had a visual scripting program that identified and deleted irrelevant lines from the CSV leaving only the cabinetry information. The columns containing the cabinetry info remain the same all the time e.g. if you export the Item List, column B always contains the quantity, C always contains the cabinet UserCode, D the ManufCode and E the Description.

A lot of the lines however need to be dropped out and this is what the Visual Script did.