Importing 3D floorplan from Sketchup or other?

• February 22, 2017 at 10:38 pm #120618
      MICHAEL
      Participant

I am new to 2020 running the trial version.  I have customer 3D room models and would like the ability to import them directly into 2020 for cabinet design.   I seem to be able to import them in Sketchup 2013 format but I am unable to figure out how to go from the import list to a floorplan.   Is this possible?  Are the steps documented somewhere?

• February 23, 2017 at 5:20 pm #120656
      Neil Wilson
      Participant

Hi Michael,

In 2020 go to the file menu, select import, select from local storage, on the screen that opens, below the list of files change the file of type drop down to Sketchup and then select your file and select open. Click on the floorplan to place the item.

Neil

• February 23, 2017 at 8:40 pm #120660

Hi Neil,

Unless things have changed drastically, the Sketchup file will not import as a floorplan where walls, windows and doors matchup to their 2020 catalogue equivalents complete with Placement Zones. I have asked many times at senior levels if we can be quoted on a DXF or XML import that would allow us to select specific windows, doors, power outlets, switches etc. We are willing to pay for this! We have a point cloud laser scanning system that generates extremely accurate room measurements and is far superior to MagicPlan but we need more control over the import.

Michael
      As far as I know, you will have to trace walls etc over the imported sketchup plan. Quite frankly it will be easier to draw from scratch.

• February 24, 2017 at 9:42 am #120678
      Neil Wilson
      Participant

Hey Mike,

You are correct in that a lot of the detail is lost but that is because of the fact that 2020 is catalog based. When you import from another software there is no frame of reference for 2020 so whatever gets imported is just a shape without many attributes.

Neil

• February 24, 2017 at 12:36 pm #120749
      MICHAEL