User Texture Library … the limits and my specifications to make it work

• November 20, 2017 at 1:14 am #161087
      Jonathan Desimini
      Participant

(Long but just wanted to explain myself and thinking behind this. Sorry. )

So here’s what I’ve noticed in 2020 version 11 with the new custom texture catalog. When I find a texture that either I made (using Photoshop) or that was already cropped with the correct proportions for the pattern repeat, I would then import it and use as one would expect.

However after importing  50 or 55 textures I started to have a problem with 2020 crashing. It seems at this point, the program would have some type of error after makes 3 modifications to a job file. Once I learned that I could only change 3 attributes and then needed to save close and reopen – I continued on my way just assuming it was a program issue. But then, with extra time to spare I started to troubleshoot the malady.

First, I must admit I have no computer programing experience I’m just a tinker and a reader that then does what sounds right based on the babble from various forums and most of the times I luck out.

With that said, I assumed the issue was with the actual catalog itself. I went to the folder containing the files and realized it was 980 MB. With only 53 or so textures, they were averaging almost 18.5 MB per file. Some were actually only a few KB so there were a few files that were 30-40 MB alone! Of course when I first went hunting for the textures I wanted to use I didn’t pay that much attention to the file size. Some of the ones I made in photoshop I limited to 1MB but after seeing this larger folder, I decided to cut the fat.

<p style=”text-align: center;”>Best Practices (Maybe?)</p>